Understanding User Roles

A detailed explanation of the differences between the different user roles.

There are 3 user roles in Propel:

  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • User

Each role has its own set of permissions. The restrictions on the different roles are described below.

List Permissions and Default Views

Each role can view data from the various lists in Propel as seen in the following table:

List

Administrator

Manager

User

Accounts List

All accounts

All accounts*

User accounts only

Media Lists

All media lists

All media lists*

All media lists for user accounts*

Funnel cards

All funnel cards

All funnel cards*

User’s funnel cards only

Monitoring Alerts List

All monitoring alerts

All monitoring alerts

Alerts for user’s accounts only

*If practices are configured (enterprise only), only data connected to the user’s practices


Each role also has a different default view for these lists:

List

Administrator Default

Manager Default

User Default

Accounts List

Active Accounts

My Accounts

My Accounts

Media Lists

My Pitching Lists

My Pitching Lists

My Pitching Lists

Funnel cards

All Accounts/Everyone's Pitches

All Accounts/Everyone's Pitches

My Story Funnels/My Pitches

Monitoring Alerts List

All Accounts

All Accounts

My Accounts

Dashboard Access

Administrators and managers can view all dashboards in the Analyze menu. Regular users can also view all dashboards by default, but can also be restricted to view only shareable dashboards. This is achieved by disabling the option "Allow users to see manager and administrator dashboards" under Settings -> Firm Settings.

Default Landing Page

When administrators and managers open the web application, the default landing page is the Account Summary dashboard. When users open the web application, the default landing page is the Story Funnel.

Archiving Accounts and Contacts

Administrators and managers can archive or unarchive accounts and contacts. Regular users cannot. Similarly, administrators and managers can view archived accounts and contacts, whereas regular users cannot.

User and Firm Management

Administrators and managers can access user management and firm settings, while regular users cannot.

User management allows for adding and removing users, as well as updating user details. Firm settings allows for controlling global settings that affect the entire firm.

Creating Practices (Enterprise Only)

Administrators and managers can create new practices. Regular users cannot.

Miscellaneous

Contact Opt-In

Administrators and managers can opt-in a contact who has opted-out. Regular users cannot.

Contact and Media Outlet Notes

Administrators can view all contact and media outlet notes. Managers and regular users can only view notes according to the individual note share permissions.

Summary Table

The following is a summary table of all the permissions discussed above.

Feature

Administrator

Manager

User

View Notes

All

According to note share permissions

According to note share permissions

Accounts List

All

All*

User only

Media Lists

All

All*

All user practices and accounts

Funnel cards

All

All*

User only

Monitoring Alerts List

All

All

User accounts only

Dashboards

All

All

All or non-restricted (depends upon firm settings)

Archive/Unarchive Account

Yes

Yes

No

View Archived Accounts

Yes

Yes

No

Archive/Unarchive Contact

Yes

Yes

No

View Archived Contacts

Yes

Yes

No

User Management

Yes

Yes

No

Remove Contact Opt-Out

Yes

Yes

No

Firm Settings

Yes

Yes

No

Create Practice (enterprise only)

Yes

Yes

No

       

*If practices are configured (enterprise only), only data connected to the user’s practices

     

Default List Views

     

Accounts List

Active Accounts

My Accounts

My Accounts

Media Lists

My Pitching Lists

My Pitching Lists

My Pitching Lists

Funnel cards

All Accounts/Everyone's Pitches

All Accounts/Everyone's Pitches

My Story Funnels/My Pitches

Monitoring Alerts List

All Accounts

All Accounts

My Accounts

Default Landing Page

Dashboard

Dashboard

Story Funnel

*If practices are configured (enterprise only), only data connected to the user’s practices